Ragnarok Inception

Started by Sophia, Nov 29, 2021, 02:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sophia

Server Name: Ragnarok Inception
Server website: https://ro-inception.com/
Rates: 15/15/10 (variable drop rates)
Style: Classic with rolling updates (Currently episode 8.3)
Customs: Palettes, town warper, 10 memo slots, cosmetic headgears.

The server opened on 2021/11/13, and I started playing about a week afterwards around 11/20. It's got a decent population (around 240ish online during busy hours without merchants), and whether you can get a party started with randoms or not seems to be about 50-50. It's a midrate (at least, I consider 15x to be on the low end of midrate or the high end of lowrate), so even though I've only been playing about a week, I'm close to 99 on a couple of characters.

I like the server a lot. It's very snappy, very low lag on the west coast USA and something about the movement code feels really good here. Hit stun is interesting here, when I'm mobbing and I get hit, I don't snap back at all, creating a smoother, more official-like mobbing experience. It's also fun playing a hunter and watching a monster smoothly walk towards you while playing some proper stagger animations; position bugs seem less frequent in general here. This is my first time playing in about a year so I am unsure if this is due to something server-side (it sort of feels like a high tick rate) or if rA code has been updated and this is just normal now.

Anyways, it's run by an admin named Shakto, who knows his stuff when it comes to development and has contributed to the rA repository before. At one point an add-on that facilitated communication between discord and in-game channels started crashing the game server, and he was able to debug it pretty quickly, so I commend him for that.