OriginsRO - Another Review

Started by Jinbou, Jun 25, 2020, 06:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jinbou

Hey there. I've been playing OriginsRO since early 2018, although there have been many 5-6 months-long breaks so my total play time is not very high. I was extremely happy with the server when I first started it, but I did have an increasing number of problems lately that bothered me more and more, so for the first time I'm writing a not-positive review for it - which ended up too long so I decided to make it even longer and post here. This will contain all of my impressions with the server over a very long time, and it'll be very long, so feel free to skip some sections and check out only what you're curious about.

tl;dr

• + No Cashshop/Donations
  • + No bots
  • + Good economy, most gears are cheap, making it easy for beginners
  • + Good QoL updates, the control panel and master account system are very nice
  • + The nostalgic classic RO experience

• - Dead pvp, no battlegrounds, mediocre woe
  • - People either play solo with multi-clients or make boring 12-people standing parties, it's very hard to find a normal party
  • - There is no end-game objectives, you run out of stuff to do pretty fast
  • - Mediocre class balance, not bad, not great. It won't ever be improved as there are no class balance updates
  • - Some awkward movement mechanics

About the Server
Spoiler
Origins is a 5x pre-renewal server. It is completely free with no cash shop or donations, which is its main charm point. The owner seems to be paying for the server costs out of his own pocket, which is very respectable. It's a very old server, probably 6-7 years old, but it only started getting crowded recently after iRO kicked all their EU players, so it still feels fresh with many new players, and the economy is pretty good. There is no full stat/skill reset or other custom NPCs like healers/warpers/job changer.
[close]

Leveling
Spoiler