RMS Home | Guide Writing | Test Server | New Servers | Latest Reviews

Author Topic: OriginsRO - Another Review  (Read 1021 times)

Offline Jinbou

OriginsRO - Another Review
« on: Jun 25, 2020, 06:44 pm »
Hey there. I've been playing OriginsRO since early 2018, although there have been many 5-6 months-long breaks so my total play time is not very high. I was extremely happy with the server when I first started it, but I did have an increasing number of problems lately that bothered me more and more, so for the first time I'm writing a not-positive review for it - which ended up too long so I decided to make it even longer and post here. This will contain all of my impressions with the server over a very long time, and it'll be very long, so feel free to skip some sections and check out only what you're curious about.

tl;dr
  • + No Cashshop/Donations
  • + No bots
  • + Good economy, most gears are cheap, making it easy for beginners
  • + Good QoL updates, the control panel and master account system are very nice
  • + The nostalgic classic RO experience
  • - Dead pvp, no battlegrounds, mediocre woe
  • - People either play solo with multi-clients or make boring 12-people standing parties, it's very hard to find a normal party
  • - There is no end-game objectives, you run out of stuff to do pretty fast
  • - Mediocre class balance, not bad, not great. It won't ever be improved as there are no class balance updates
  • - Some awkward movement mechanics

About the Server
(click to show/hide)

Leveling
(click to show/hide)

Economy
(click to show/hide)

Multi-clienting
(click to show/hide)

Parties
(click to show/hide)

PvP
(click to show/hide)

WoE
(click to show/hide)

Events
(click to show/hide)

Bots/Cheaters
(click to show/hide)

MVP
(click to show/hide)

Class Balance
(click to show/hide)

Custom, Awkward Movement Mechanics
(click to show/hide)

Special Mention: Homunculus System
(click to show/hide)

End-Game Content
(click to show/hide)

Final Thoughts