Mob Controller

Started by PokeROGaming, Apr 18, 2021, 06:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PokeROGaming

Hello RMS, a short story here for those interested in mob controller systems.

[Intro]
My name is Sung, I have been working on Project Pokemon for many years now. This is a project which I have invested thousands of hours into its development. It has been a true journey from start to
finish. My goal was to create an authentic Pokemon experience that brings a unique Player VS Monster mechanic that is different from all other private servers. Putting myself in the shoes of an adventurer, there really is nothing like having a great team to progress with. This project aims to have you build your team of Pokemon, utilziing their best skills to help you conqueor content along the way. I just wanted to share my experience and struggles throughout this development for any that are interested in how it works.

[Mob Controller System]
For the longest time, it has been a real struggle of finding the right method of utilizing custom monsters. Emulators the last few years offered options such as Pets and Homunculus.

There are always challenges when it comes to implementation and customization. Some of the limitations I encountered during the development process:

Pets:

• Limit of having one pet at a time
  • Invulnerable and cannot be killed - Completely destroys the mob vs mob interactions that would be possible
  • Using a pet incubator or a command to summon Pokemon is not an authentic experience of summoning
  • No flexibility of skill damage control
  • Skill limitations as not all work as petsupport skills
  • Passive AI - Needs to wait for player to attack or be attacked to support - No Aggro options1

Simply put, a pet system is limited and not able to achieve custom monster control we are looking for.