An Economic study of Private Ragnarok Online Servers.

Started by Milkis, Sep 12, 2010, 02:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Milkis

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I feel as if this place would be the most appropriate.

I'm currently a 4th year student at an US university, majoring in Economics. One of the things I was planning on doing this year was to write up a thesis on the game that I know and love, Ragnarok Online.

The point of the matter is that, while many of us talk about Economics on servers, and even though some may have solid intuition about what is going on, as far as I know, there hasn't been any rigorous studies analyzing the server economies.

I can't guarantee that I will be able to find information that will, in effect, solve the problems faced by policies of Ragnarok Server that affects the economy. I can't even guarantee a set of results, but at the very least, through this thesis, I will be able to present to you a paper that gives a rather indepth explanation of how the RO economy works. If it works out well, there's a chance that it will even be published.

The focus on the study will be how players allocate their time, and how the average player life develops in the server.

The reason that I'm posting this is that, I require data in order to do my analysis. In particular, I need the zenylog and picklogs from various different kinds of Ragnarok Online servers (hopefully ones that are fairly large and active enough). I had contacts with one of the large private RO servers, but at this point, I believe that it's not going to happen, so at this point, I really need the help of various server owners.

I understand that server owners may be worried about privacy of their data, and I can guarantee that the logs will not be released anywhere at any point in time. Furthermore, I don't believe that there is any data just from the picklog and zenylog that will allow me to uniquely identify players in the server at hand.